Android App isn't mapping WiFis while driving: Rarely displays dark blue and light blue "balloons" while wardriving

Found a problem? Tell us about it! Topics-per-issue, please search before posting.

19 posts • Page 1 of 2
I have been wardriving since May 2015. (I'm at about 1,030,000 Wifis collected.)
In the last few months, I have seen a big problem with the Wigle Android app: When I try to run the thing with the mapping turned on (dark blue and light blue balloons) very, very few of those balloons appear, compared with the number than should appear. I hear plenty of high-pitched "beeps", and when I later upload the data and map it, those wifis seem to be properly mapping into located wifis. But dark blue and light blue balloons infrequently appear on the screen. As you can imagine, this is extremely inconvenient. I am using a Moto X Pure phone, with Android 7.0. But about a week ago, I had to shift to using a Moto G4 Plus, for a few days, that also used Android 7.0. It exhibited what seemed to be an identical problem: Showing VERY few light blue and dark blue balloons, but beeps occurred, and the data was properly mapped.

Note: After I posted this, I saw the words "Yagi Disciple" included. I have no idea where that came from.
Sorry about the Yagi disciple - those are forum tags based on how often you post.

It's interesting that the mapping core is missing data, but that points are being logged properly. The good news is that this is probably a rendering or settings problem - the bad news is that if it's a rendering problem, this could be hard to debug, or hard to fix, since the cost of the balloons in memory isn't something we can easily optimize (they're rendered by the mapping library)

First few questions:
1. have the balloons been missing on both the moto X and moto G4 plus, or just since the upgrade to G4?
2. when you upgraded, did the settings from the X get migrated to the G4?